Select Page

Sligo League 2022

Sligo League 2022

Sligo League 2022

Sligo Cycling Summer League 2022 kicks off

It’s coming up to the racing season 2022 🙂

The Summer league will consist of 10 rounds. 7 Road races, 2 TT’s and a hill climb. BCC will host 3 races, Yeats 4, Innisfree wheelers will host the two TT’s and the hill climb again this year will be a charity event. The price will be the same as last year €10 per individual round or €50 for the entire league. The league will run from the 19-Apr to 06-Sep. Rounds will be completed every two weeks. There will be no new courses this year, but the ‘traders cup’ loop will make a welcome return. The first event will be a TT and will be on the old N4 out to Castlebaldwin and back. There will be a ‘rest week’ on the 28-Jun. The handicap system will remain however there will be a little change to how the system will work, there will be 4,5 or 6 groups/category based on entry numbers. Based on your ability the committee will then place you in a group/category all similar to how previous years were run.

The format for the first across the line remains the same, that is the winner of the race. However, this year you will be given points based on your group. Last year points were awarded based on your license, an LC rider in group 3 could be racing an LC rider in group 4, if group 3 stayed away the LC riders in group 4 got no points as these were all taken by the LC riders in group 3. This will change this year to points being awarded to the first/second/third person of your group getting points regardless of whether your group is caught by the chasing group.

A 1st, 2nd 3rd Podium will be photo’d every round with prizes on the night.

– The committee will complete the safety statements and permits required by Cycling Ireland.

– Race reports will be completed by a BCC member.

– Sligo Summer League Facebook page will be updated by YCCC and BCC.

– Every rider will be assigned a race night to marshal, points will be deducted where marshalling is not completed.

– Kevin Egan Cars Main Sponsor for the league.

About The Author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *